Opening, Middlegame, Endgame

If life is a game of chess, how will you play?

A novice would learn the rules, how each piece moves, some tactics, and perhaps even strategies. 

A trained player would learn the three phases through which a chess game typically unfolds – the Opening, Middlegame, and Endgame.

In the Opening, one focuses on developing the pieces, ensuring the King’s safety, and controlling the centre in preparation for the Middlegame where most of the attacks and defenses would take place.  Finally, in the Endgame, when only a few pieces are left on the board after the battle, one is ready to capture the opponent’s King and end the game.   

In the chess game of life, the opponent is not out there, but lies deep within us.  There is a constant battle between the light and darkness within. Hopefully, light prevails over darkness most of the time, kindness over meanness, compassion over indifference, forgiveness over resentment, love over hate, courage over fear.

With each new day, we get to start a new game.  Let us open each day by going back to basics – develop the pieces.  Bring forth love, kindness, compassion, courage, forgiveness, etc. Let our light shine brightly and triumph over darkness so that we end each day in gratitude of a sweet victory.

“It is during our darkest moments that we must focus to see the light.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.